Embroidered Signatures ProjectSACWA. Buxton Group. Cleve Branch: Cloth

South Australian Country Women's Association
Eyre Peninsula
South Australian Country Women's Association. Cleve Branch
240cm x 170cm
Historical Period/Date
20th Century (1900-1929 Early)/1933
ID Number
Chain Stitch,Cloths,Stem Stitch,Threaded Chain Stitch,

Physical Description

Pale yellow cotton cloth with the "CWA" cipher and "Cleve 1933" worked in the centre near the bottom edge in red cotton thread. The cipher is worked with multiple, tight lines of chain stitch. The other title text is worked in chain stitch within a border of two lines of threaded chain stitch. The names radiate out from the title text and are worked in stem stitch with red cotton thread. Only the hem is machine stitched.

Theme and Purpose

Commemorative. South Australian Country Women's Association. Buxton Group. Cleve Branch. Members' signatures.


Below are the names that have been transcribed from this object. Multiple instances of a name on one object is indicated by a bracketed number after the name. A name in bold appears on other objects. Click these names to see the other objects.

Adams, Lorna (State President 1990-1993)

Aird, Gloria

Avery, Elsie

Bagnell, Effie

Bagshaw, Isabell

Barlow, Helen

Bates, Veronica

Bednall, Ann

Benton, Aldyth

Birkin, Shirley

Bond, Ailsa (Nat President 1993)

Burton, Ruth

Crosby, Joy (Group President 2011-2014)

Crosby, Marilyn

Crosby, Melva

Crosby, Valmai D

Delvendiep, Jill

Durdin, Elaine

Ebsary, Phyl

Edwards, Mary (Group President)

Elliott, Addie

Elliott, I M

Elliott, Ila

Elson, Barbara

Elson, Ruby

Elson, Ruth

Elson, Thelma

Ferme, Verlie

Fiegert, Jean

Forbes, Zoe

Forgie, Varina J

Franklin, June

Gamlen, Joyce

Hannermann, O Beryl

Hansen, Edith

Hartwig, W (Group Sec 1983-1985)

Hayes, Joan

Heath, Val

Incher, Enid

Kammermann, Elizabeth

Kobelt, Dorothea

Kobelt, Myra

Kraehe, Fay

Lally, Marie

Lambert, Elaine (State President 1980-83)

Lamey, Gwen

Levett, Mavis

Lovegrove, Joyce

Materne, Julia (State President 2011-2014)

Millard, May

Mitchell, Jenny (President Sth Pacific Area of ACWW 1998)

Mitchell, Nancy E (Group President 1992)

Mudge, Elaine

Mundy, Alice

Neld, Margaret

Nield, Mavis

Noble, Maybelle

Noble, Ruth

Noble, Yvonne

Ogilvie, Iris

Patterson, Jan L (Div President 1996)

Pearce, Gwen

Pearce, Mabel (1938)

Petherick, Alice

Petherick, Yvonne

Phelan, Anne (State President 1993-1996)

Plane, Melva

Price, Nancy

Robelt, Dorothea

Ross, Dorothy D (Nat President 1987)

Schumann, Audrey

Schumann, Roslyn (Group President 1989-1992)

Secher, A G

Simes, Coral

Smith, Claire

Spriggs, Nancey

Tassell, Mabs

Thiele, Carlene

Tothill, Betty (State President 2002-2003)

Treagus, A

Trigg, Neva

Tuohy, Gwen

Turner, C E

Turner, Joyce

van Keulen, Mary (State General Officer 1993)

Wade, Melba

Walker, Lorna V

Watkinson, Gill (Div President 1992)

Watson, Dolly

Wheeler, Sue

Winter, Joan (Arts Officer)

Wright, Madge

Young, Margaret